The Man Booker Prize

The Man Booker Prize, previously known as the Booker Prize, is awarded annually with a prize of £50,000

 The Man Booker Prize logo
Man Booker Prize

Considered by many to be the world's most important literary award, The Man Booker Prize rewards the very best novel of the year written by a citizen of the Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland.


Recent Winners

a brief history of seven killings

Winner of the Man Booker 2015

A Brief History of Seven Killings

by Marlon James

This epic novel is a study of violence and politics and the musical legacy of Kingston of the 1970's. Inspired by the assassination attempt on Bob Marley this complex fictional history is told by 75 charaters and voices.



The Narrow Road to the Deep North cover

Winner of the Man Booker 2014

The Narrow Road to the Deep North

by Richard Flanagan

A love story unfolds over half a century between a doctor and his Uncle's wife. At the heart of the story is the construction of the now infamous Thailand-Burma railway in World War II.




The Luminaries cover

Winner of the Man Booker 2013

The Luminaries

by Eleanor Catton

An historical novel set in Hokitika during the 1860s. The Luminaries is a murder mystery on a grand scale.





Bring up the bodies cover

Winner of the Man Booker Prize 2012

Bring Up the Bodies

by Hilary Mantel

The sequel to her 2009 Man Booker Prize winner and New York Times bestseller Wolf Hall, this novel delves into the heart of Tudor history. Follow the dramatic trial of the Queen, Ann Boleyn, and her suitors for adultery and treason. 

Winner of the Man Booker Prize 2011
The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes

by Julian Barnes

Tony Webster and his clique first met Adrian Finn at school and they all swore to stay friends for life. Now Tony is retired. He's had a good life - but memory is imperfect, as a lawyer's letter is about to prove.

Winner of the Man Booker Prize 2010

The Finkler Question

by Howard Jacobson

Funny, furious, unflinching, this extraordinary novel is a scorching story of friendship and loss, exclusion and belonging, and the wisdom that comes with age.

Wolf Hall cover

Winner of the Man Booker Prize 2009

Wolf Hall

by Hilary Mantel

Henry VIII is on the throne, but has no heir and wants a divorce the Pope refuses to grant. Enter Oliver Cromwell: briber, charmer and bully, with a delicate and deadly expertise in manipulating people and events.

The Man Booker International Prize

The Man Booker International Prize

Worth £60,000, the International prize is awarded every two years to a living author who has published fiction either originally in English or in English translation. The Man Booker International Prize is awarded for a writer's body of work rather than a single novel.

Recent Winners